Northern Neck News

Follow Us On:

Clopton Scholarship recipients

Posted on Wednesday, May 29, 2019 at 10:39 am

The Louise Miller Clopton and William Boyd Clopton Memorial Scholarship was established for the purpose of providing financial assistance to graduates of Rappahannock High School who wish to attend college, university, or technical school. The fund is administered by the Episcopal Church Women of St. John’s Episcopal Church, Warsaw. They are pleased to announce the recipients of 8 Clopton scholarships for 2019:

Laura Brooke Ambrose: University of Virginia

Savannah Rylee: Goodman University of Mary Washington

Devin Logan Hayes: James Madison University

Cassidy Jones: Randolph-Macon College

Jonathan Maupin: Virginia Tech

Abigail Grace Smith: Longwood University

Carissa Walder: Virginia Tech

Courtney Walder: Virginia Tech

They are also pleased to award the following student with a scholarship from the Gladys Wright Memorial Fund:

Hannah Williams: Virginia Tech

Mrs. Wright was a member of St. John’s Church and has left funds that can be designated for scholarships to deserving students.

Rappahannock High School graduates have benefited from the Louise Miller Clopton and William Boyd Clopton Memorial Scholarships since its inception in 1995.  The Clopton Scholarship was established by William Boyd Clopton, Sr. to recognize Scholastic Ability, Character and Leadership Ability of students in Richmond County. The Episcopal Church Women of St. John’s in Warsaw are pleased to have contributed thousands of dollars to deserving Rappahannock High School graduates since the start of the scholarship program.

Congratulations to these 9 outstanding students, and congratulations to all of the seniors graduating from Rappahannock High School this year!